Football Players With The Most Individual Awards

By Peter C

When a player’s argument is greater than another is brought up, team awards and individual awards are always the yardsticks for assessment. Receiving individual awards for some personal efforts can be very beautiful.

Here is a list of the footballers with the most individual awards in no particular order:

1. Cristiano Ronaldo

Image courtesy of Shutterstock

The Portuguese football legend has been awarded 13 individual titles. The 36-year-old won the Balloon d’Or award in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, and 2017. He was awarded the FIFA world player of the year in 2008, the Puskas award in 2009, and the European golden boot four times.

2. Lionel Messi

Lionel Messi is the epitome of football beauty and intelligence. He has consistently wowed the football community with his entertaining performances for close to two decades now.

The Argentine legend has won the Ballon d’Or six times, the European golden boot five times, amongst other individual awards.

3. Ronaldo De Lima

Although the Brazilian never won the UEFA Champions League, Ronaldo indeed won two FIFA World Cups and received many individual honors during his playing days. He won the Ballon d’Or in 1997 and 2002, was the FIFA player of the year thrice, and claimed the European golden boot in the 1996/1997 season.

4. Marco van Basten

Image courtesy of Shutterstock

The Dutch player was a magnificent footballer. He proved his mettle whenever he was called upon. Van Hasten won the FIFA World Player of the year and European golden boot once each and also received the Ballon d’Or thrice.