Top 5 Soccer Players With The Most Individual Awards

By Peter C

Individual awards in soccer are reasons some players are considered exceptionally better than others. Apart from winning major soccer tournaments as a team, each player still stands a chance to be celebrated for their incredible performances.

This article talks about the first five soccer players with the most individual awards in world football.

1. Cristiano Ronaldo

The Portuguese legend is arguably one of the best soccer players of all time and also the player with the most individual awards in the sport’s history. He was a 2008 FIFA World Player of the Year Award winner, a two-time winner of The Best FIFA Men’s Player award, a four-time winner of the European Golden Boot award, and a five-time Ballon d’Or winner.

2. Lionel Messi

Image courtesy of Cosmin Iftode/Shutterstock

The 34-year-old has always been a delight to behold since he started his soccer career. He’s a fantastic player with exceptional dribbling skills. He won the FIFA World Player of the Year in 2009, 5 European Golden Boot awards. With 6 Ballon d’Or, the Argentine player is the most recipient of the prestigious award.

3. Ronaldo Nazario

The Brazilian legend will forever be remembered as one of the best in soccer history. His incredible goal-scoring ability and dribbling skills are phenomenal. He won the FIFA World Player of the Year award in 1996, 1997, and  2002. He was a two-time Ballon d’Or winner in 1997 and 2002. The only time he won the European Golden Boot was in 1996.

4. Marco van Basten

The retired professional soccer player was the Ballon d’Or winner in 1988, 1989, and 1992. He also won the FIFA World Player of the Year award in 1992 and the European Golden Boot award in 1985, making five individual awards.

5. Zinedine Zidane

Image credit: Twitter

Popularly known as Zizou, the French legend enjoyed his soccer career with four individual awards to his name. He won the FIFA World Player of the Year award in 1998, 2000, and 2003. He was the recipient of the 1998 Ballon d’Or award.